Ethereum Foundation partners with Russian Bank

Ethereum Foundation announces its partnership with Russian Vnesheconombank (VEB)
30 August 2017   999

Ethereum foundation and Russian Vnesheconombank (VEB) have signed a partnership agreement. The ceremony took place at the "Blockchain: The New Black Gold of Russia" conference. The document was signed by Ethereum foundation founder, chief architect of Ethereum platform Vitalik Buterin and Vnesheconombank Chairman Sergey Gorkov.

As reported, the agreement focuses on a long-term and effective partnership in the implementation of the projects using distributed registry technology and the Ethereum platform, the formation of an expert community on the Ethereum platform, and the joint development and the implementation of the educational programs for training specialists in distributed registries and the Ethereum platform based on Vnesheconombank's Blockchain Competence Centre.

The Centre aims at accumulation of the competencies and knowledge about innovative technologies, development of the platforms for government organizations, training and popularization. Thus, Russia is becoming an important player in the development of blockchain industry in the world.

We unite the efforts of all the interested parties and create the first Competence Centre in Russia for state companies and authorities, forming an ecosystem of the innovations. Both Russian developers and world leaders will contribute to the project. We are pleased to add Ethereum foundation's experience and expertise to VEB's knowledge.

Sergei Gorkov
Vnesheconombank Chairman

The partnership hopes to help foster a community of Ethereum experts within Russia and to assist the formation projects based on Ethereum and other blockchain.

Cooperation between Ethereum and VEB gives a unique opportunity to engage in research and development on the use of blockchain technology for public administration and accelerate the adaptation of this technology to government organizations in the Russian Federation.

Vitalik Buterin
Ethereum founder

Thus, the partnership seems to be a part of a series of steps that Russia are taking towards blockchain implementation nationwide.

Line to Launch Bibox Exchange in Singapore

Bitbox supports 28 digital currencies, including Bitcoin, Ethereum, USDT, XRP, Litecoin, Ethereum Classic, Bitcoin Cash, Bitcoin Gold, MonaCoin, Qtum and Golem
16 July 2018   110

One of the most popular messengers in Asia Line has launched a Bitbox exchange in Singapore. Trading on the platform started this morning and is limited to pairs with crypto-currencies, Cryptovest reports.

Bitbox supports 28 digital currencies, including Bitcoin, Ethereum, USDT, XRP, Litecoin, Ethereum Classic, Bitcoin Cash, Bitcoin Gold, MonaCoin, Qtum and Golem.

BITBOX is only for trading cryptocurrencies (Digital Tokens). Fiat currencies (USD, KRW, etc.) cannot be exchanged on BITBOX.

Bitbox Website

Bitbox charges a 0.1% commission and supports 15 languages, including English, Korean, Chinese, Spanish, French and German. In Russia, the US, Japan and some other countries, the exchange is not available.

At the beginning of the year, Line Group applied for a license to the Japan Financial Services Agency, but the process dragged on because of tightening of the regulator's requirements in the light Coincheck exchange hack. All crypto exchange, wishing to provide services in the Japanese market, are required to obtain permission from the local regulator.

Currently, Line is also in the process of obtaining a license in the US. The company decided to open its first trading platform for crypto-currencies in Singapore, as this city-state adheres to a progressive approach to the regulation of the digital currency sphere.

With cryptocurrency, we are going to take our challenge in financial services global.

Takeshi Idezawa

CEO, Line

In May, Line Group denied rumors that it intends to release its own token and distribute it through the ICO. Every month Line is used by about 200 million people. The messenger is extremely popular in Japan, South Korea and Thailand.